About me

Robert Krimmer is an expert in digital transformation and an entrepreneur.

Between 2020 and 2022, Robert Krimmer held the ERA-Chair Full Professorship of e-Governance within Skytte Institute at the University of Tartu in Estonia. Robert’s research focuses on digital transformation, cross-border e-services, electronic participation, and democracy, as well as e-voting, and all issues further developing a digital society.

Between 2015 and 2020, he was an Associate Editor for participation issues of the leading journal Government Information Quarterly. He is a member of the editorial board of the journals Government Information Quarterly, Information Polity, Policy Studies, Halduskultuur, and of the Programme committees of the leading conferences on digital government, HICSS, dg.o, EGOV/CEDEM/EPART, ICEGOV. He was the general chair of the annual E-Vote-ID Conference series between 2016 and 2022 and ran the preceding biannual EVOTE conference from 2004 to 2014.

In 2019, he was mentioned as one of the top 16 academics on the list of 100 most influential people in digital government by Apolitical. Since 2017, Robert has been coordinating TOOP, the EU H2020 large-scale pilot on exploring and demonstrating the feasibility of the once-only principle involving 50+ partners from more than 20 countries inside and outside the European Union. Further, he was a member of the group of experts at the Council of Europe Ad-Hoc Committee on Electronic Voting (CAHVE), which edited the recommendation on legal, technical, and operational standards for Electronic Voting Rec(2017)5. Also, he was one of the lead experts for the Council of Europe Ad-Hoc Committee on Electronic Democracy and drafted Annex 1 of the CoE Recommendation (2009) on e-Democracy. Before returning to academia, Robert was OSCE/ODIHR’s first senior adviser on new voting technologies. In the past, he advised several international organizations, including CoE, OSCE/ODIHR, UNESCO, UNDP, WHO, ITU, IFAD, AfDB, the European Commission, and AWEB, on matters regarding digital transformation.

He lectured on various topics of digital transformation (including e-Governance, e-Democracy, e-Participation, e-Voting, and End-User Management Information Systems) at many Universities in Europe (including the University of Tartu, Tallinn University of Technology, WU Vienna, University of Economics and Business, University of Applied Sciences Hagenberg, and Danube University Krems). Robert has supervised four PhD theses and more than forty graduate theses and has been an author and/or editor of over ten books/special issues of scientific journals. According to Google Scholar, Dr. Krimmer has authored over 200 international scientific articles and has been cited some 2200 times, with a Hirsch index of 25.

See also my profiles on LinkedInResearchGateORCIDResearcherID , and ETIS.